kirstymill

By kirstymill

Auld Aisle Cemetery

I went to church with my mum this morning and then in the afternoon we went for a walk. My mum wanted to explore a path that she hasn't walked down yet (she moved very recently so is still getting to know the area), so we went out to explore. The path took us to the Auld Aisle Cemetery, a large cemetery that serves Kirkintilloch. We wandered in. The cemetery is on a hill and at the top of the hill was what was clearly the oldest part. It is overgrown and now within a grove of trees. The oldest gravestone seemed to date to the early 18th century. It has a very unusual watchtower and belfry at its entrance (extra). Its location made me wonder if it was the site of an earlier church and, sure enough, when we looked it up when we were back at my mum's flat we found that it is on the site of the 12th century St Ninian's church. Nothing visible remains of the church, which was demolished in the mid 17th century. It was a fascinating find and I'm pleased that my archaeological instincts are tuned enough that I had an incling that it might be the site of a medieval church!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.