This'n'That

By Nanzy19

Tattered and torn...

...but flying with Pride!  I really like the colours of Pride combined with the maple leaf.
I really enjoyed my walk this morning, peaceful, and the air smelled so fresh after the rain. It started out with a mix of cloud and sun but cleared up into another lovely sunny day with a cool breeze. The garden really appreciated the rain and so did I. Everything did fine except for a few of the petunias. I spent quite a bit of time in the garden when I got home then some time in the kitchen. I roasted the garlic scapes that I'd picked a few days ago, cooled them, and froze them. So delicious and so easy to take a few out at time for recipes.
I tried something different for Sunday Soup. I picked a huge amount of kale, mustard greens, arugula, beet greens, and spinach, mixed them with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper, and put them in the oven for a couple of minutes after the scapes came out. The huge amount became a much smaller amount, and I combined it with some of the stock for soup and used the immersion blender to make a 'smoothie' to add to the soup. With the usual potatoes, celery, carrots, onions and garlic, the 'smoothie' added great flavour! 
G came home from golf with an apple pie again, so it looks like Sunday Soup and Apple Pie might become our Sunday main and dessert, with a salad too of course.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.