This'n'That

By Nanzy19

Baby purple martin

On June 3, I blipped a pair of purple martins. Today there was one perched again (first extra). It flew off, and suddenly a baby appeared out of the nesting box! I googled to make sure that it was a baby purple martin. I included another shot of the baby from a different angle in the second extra. In all the years I've been walking down Xwaaqw'um, I've never seen martins, so it's great to have seen them twice! I saw another thing that I've never seen before, a log in a boat (third extra). I wondered if it's the passenger seat.  :-) 
So I was walking along the trail watching where I was going when I suddenly crashed to the ground! No idea what happened. The fall rattled the old bones, and I have cuts and huge bruises on my right elbow and knee and a sprained left ankle (I've had worse sprains playing sports). Not one of my dainty falls! No one around, but I bet the people in the boats in the bay heard my frustrated yells, and it wasn't a word that I can write in blip that I yelled several times. I was about halfway through my walk and managed to complete it with no problem. I don't usually walk on Tuesdays because I go shopping but I'm pretty sure that I'll be walking on Wednesday, maybe with my ankle taped. It's very swollen and bruised. I'm tough, not much holds me back. We'll see! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.