But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Church Hall.

I took the garden rubbish to the dump today - then brought it back again - the workmen there must follow a strange religion as Wednesday appears to be their Sabbath. I then went to the oot-of-toon emporia conglomeration and got lost - several times; ended up abandoning the car and walking around to find the various establishments needed. I normally cycle there which means that I can pick my way along the footpaths and is quite satisfactory but then, normally, I'm not carrying a dozen bags of garden rubbish.

Went to visit The Old Lady after lunch and took her out onto the terrace where she had a piece of cake and a fortifying milk shake while I had cake and a mug of coffee - it started to rain - gently at first but, by the time I wanted to get ready for the Wednesday evening cycle with the Bristle wing of the CTC, it was hissing down so we tried to re-arrange the furniture in TOL's sitting-room instead. We did manage to create more space but it doesn't look very practical, will probably move it back again tomorrow.

Finally, we had a visit from Ned, she's a lovely girl but, please don't ask as I don't know. She's the activities co-ordinator and wanted to know what activities might be of interest to TOL. Reading was one of them and, it seems short stories are good (I tried to conceal my laughter), I gave her several authors' names to be going on with. We also put TOL down for what is euphemistically called "The Walking Group," first outing due on Saturday morning. I'll report back - I promise.

The Horfield Church Hall is seen here from the terrace, it was my primary school's dining hall but, that was before the telephone mast and the graffiti were installed; it also served as TOL's Townswomen's Guild meeting place until that group closed in the 1980's and she moved to her present branch. The football pitch was our games field and, before that, (about twenty years before that) it was TOL's hockey pitch.
There are memories here for all of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.