Capital adventures

By marchmont

Olivia's rose

Woke to find it hard trained during the night. I never heard it. Spent some time doing Choir admin then, after a chat to E about hard core and converting camper vans, to Y's for coffee and fizz. I came home with a bag of books for the hols. 

The sun was breaking through by the time I got back but not enough to sit outside. I completed another havtae, this time the intro for the Apex annual report. For once in on time. By the time it was finished the sun had returned so after cutting the grass and watering the front I sat outside with my book. There was a fascinating, if slightly gruesome interruption from a magpie which appeared to retrieve something from under the azalea, dragged it to the grass and then consumed it. It was, of course, the remains of quite a large frog. Had it been secreted away for a later snack? Not a fan of magpies. 

And there was another interruption, yet another political earthquake, the arrest of the ex FM. Though that was short lived. But who'd be a political journalist this weekend? No lazing in the sun for them. 

Made the banana polenta cake with mum's bananas and then chicken in a cream sauce with rice. I'm gradually emptying the store cupboard. 

Watched some TV including Ten Pound Poms. I seem to have missed a week. I'm not enjoying it, perhaps too near known reality. And is there not an irony in one part of the Beeb commemorating the migrants who arrived in the UK from the Caribbean and faced a difficult life with another part of the media highlighting a different group of migrants who almost at the same time had left the UK and faced a difficult life in Australia? We move, life is not static. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.