Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Conflicting views

We drove down to Glasgow this morning - Mrs M had an appointment and while she was occupied I went to Victoria Park. I've known the park for a long time and it has some pleasant bits, but still looks like a park that's managed by people who don't know much about gardening! I passed a lady who was feeding the birds; I imagine she's a regular - she  is my first extra today. When I said hello she told me that there were five mallard ducklings on the small pond off the the right. 

It's been another hot day in spite of the 1.6532 mm of rain or less we had on Saturday night!! The car thermometer has been registering 28 degrees all day and we drove most of the way back with all the windows open. We stopped off at Loch Lomond for a late lunch - we thought that 'Loch Lomond Shores' might have somewhere we could eat - and sat outside a café in the shade of the building. 

The LLS is disappointing. The building in my Blip is an aquarium, café, cinema and roof-top viewing gallery. Behind me is a long row of shops such as Frasers, Sports Direct and Loch Lomond Jewellers - how this huge complex was ever allowed in the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park I have no idea! The government appears to have a different view on National Parks to mine! If you avoid the shops and all the coloured plastic boats and the like you do get a good view of Ben Lomond in the distance - second extra!

We stopped again at the viewpoint and shop at the head of the loch where we thought we'd sit on the wall and enjoy a cuppa - but when I went to buy an ice cream I found the shop closed and empty! Very odd - there have been so many tourists about over the last warm weeks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.