If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Wood Avens Seedhead

Another very hot and dry day.  My main job was moving what I was working on into the shade as the sun moved round.  What was I doing?  I was painting the frame of the pole store.  What is a pole store for somebody is thinking.  Wellits for storing poles of course.  OK Ok, the poles off the marquee we had for shows and now use in the garden when needed.

Following yesterday's blip of a Wood Avens flower I thought it might be good to blip the seed head.  As you can see rather than a capsule with seeds in it is a bunch of separate seeds.  They are designed to tangle in animal fur and be carried away.

For my own record we spent a while in the entre of the village trying to see if the swifts that had been reported were nesting.  We didn't see any Swifts let alone any visiting nests.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.