This is the day

By wrencottage

Bright Star

We have several dog rose bushes rambling over the fence at the back of our garden and I’ve been intending to blip a photo of one of the flowers for a while. I went out to do it today, which was just as well because there aren’t many left now, it's mainly covered with dead heads!

I make no apologies for quoting this verse from my favourite poem, "Ode to a Nightingale" by John Keats, even though I know I’ve quoted it before. (At least I’ve spared you the whole eight verses!)  I love Keats’ use of the old word, ‘eglantine’ for the dog rose. 

Oh, and that reminds me. We have "Bright Star" on DVD, but nothing to play it on any more, but I’ve just looked and found that it’s available to stream on Britbox, to which we subscribe, so I’m a happy bunny. 

I cannot see what flowers are at my feet, 
Nor what soft incense hangs upon the boughs, 
But, in embalmèd darkness, guess each sweet 
Wherewith the seasonable month endows 
The grass, the thicket, and the fruit-tree wild; 
White hawthorn, and the pastoral eglantine; 
Fast fading violets cover'd up in leaves; 
And mid-May's eldest child, 
The coming musk-rose, full of dewy wine, 
The murmurous haunt of flies on summer eves. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.