LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Pin tin...

This is my Mum's pin tin. I borrowed her sewing machine when I made my lampshade so I took her pin tin too cause it's got all the bobbins in it. 

I keep looking at it and it's making me sad. Mainly cause she'll never use it again and whilst I definitely didn't appreciate some of the clobber she made for me when I was wee (knickerbockers spring to mind), she was definitely very talented in the seamstress department. 

Things aren't so great and I'm definitely glad we put the POA in place because I've been able to speak to her GP although only now does she have a dedicated GP. It's useless just seeing whoever is available simply because they can't see the deterioration in her health from visit to visit. After receiving the form to go with the attendance allowance application, the text in the diagnosis box states she has advanced Alzheimer's dementia and likely underlying malignancy. As you might imagine this came as a bit of a surprise given no-one has actually mentioned that to my Dad. They suspect bowel / colon cancer but the hospital didn't bother to do the relevant tests back in November and passed the buck to the GP who only picked it up in April after her fall along with a prompt from us to the psychiatrist who in turn prompted them which now means it's just too late to have her go through the tests needed. She's not able mentally or physically to go back into hospital so effectively now we just have to make her as comfortable as possible at home. She doesn't appear to be in any pain but isn't making any progress at all. At least now the GP is all over it but the level of care has certainly left a lot to be desired. Sad times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.