Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

Off to sunny Spain (for the evening)

Decided to go out for dinner tonight and after a bit of research last night, I chose a pub called the Spotted Dog in high Coniscliffe. I called them today to reserve the table and was pleasantly surprised when they told me that tonight was paella night. So, I pre-ordered a paella (advance bookings only) and turned up with Diana, Margaret (the mother in law), Sue (sister in law) and Jack (nephew).

The owner who is Spanish took our food order and seemed to be very hyper. He didn't change much all evening, but the place was very busy and he was taking orders and acting as front of house, so I guess he needs to be that way.

Paella was pretty good. Plenty if it but could have done with a bit more seasoning and the sausages tasted like good old English pork sasuages rather that chorizo which was a bit of a shame. Still, I wouldn't hesitate to go back - decent food, decent price and friendly staff.

I have to say that the choice of places to eat here far exceeds what is available where I live. Both choice and value are far superior.

I moaned recently about the cost of my recent service on the car - £1,500. Well, I got off lightly. I followed the brother in law up to Darlington last weekend and pointed out to him that his car was putting out quite a bit of black smoke. he sensibly put it into a garage to get it checked out. I thought it was a split hose which would explain the black smoke and the whistling noise he had noted. If only. Turns out to be the turbo and compressor, both of which need replacing. Original quote was £2,500 but he got it down to £2,000 - ouch. And he had just recently spent £600 on a service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.