Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Guildford High Street

The hot weather continues, it was 30C again today. It has now officially been declared a heatwave as the weather is hotter than usual and has endured for more than three days.

I walked Xena this morning and then after I got back, I took my sister to Guildford. I have not been for ages so it was interesting to see the new shops that have opened up (and the ones that have closed down). We went into M&S where we found the cutest woodland scene duvet cover for her grandson's new bedroom, which will match his theme perfectly. We wandered around a few shops and bought some things for her grandchildren. We had a quick lunch at Joe the Juice before returning home again.

I took this photo of Guildford High Street and it's iconic granite setts - very definitely known as setts and not cobblestones! These setts were laid in 1864 and were controversially ripped up and relaid in 2016 at a cost of £1 million by the county council. I thought I would tag this for the WidWed theme of 'rocks and stones' as they are such a feature of the city.

I took Xena for a second walk and my sister joined me. It has been another lovely day with her. We are going out for supper tonight so I am off kitchen duty tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.