ilkkavalkila

By ilkkavalkila

Forage wagon

A half of our grass was cut on Saturday by a contractor, while I was away, and collected now with forage wagons for the heifers' home farm. The easiest way to make silage for my part! It's still quite early and the yield wasn't good. It seems that we have drought coming, so perhaps it wouldn't get much better anyway.

Okay, time to reveal that we are not filling our silage pits, as the plan is that the heifers will leave in October. There would be too many costly repairs waiting and I reckon it wouldn't be pay off to continue. I'll have to look for other sources of income though.

For now, the heifers are here and I was busy preparing the new pasture for them. We also got five more out. Four of them had come in the winter, but they were quite big. It was exciting to see how they behave, as I didn't know their grazing history, but they limited their running inside the fences and everything went fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.