Scribbler

By scribbler

Calm: Bee

Today's challenge is "Calm."

Bee clinging to the car window.


The bee was calm as I warily approached it.
I tossed my library books into the trunk and closed the lid.
The bee barely moved.
I pulled my iPhone out of its case and took eight shots before I figured I'd gotten one worth uploading. I haven't tried shooting anything this small before.
The bee seemed tranquil, as a monster with huge claws and a black rectangular object hovered inches away.
Finally I edged into the front seat and drove away.
As I maneuvered through the parking lot and glanced at the rear passenger window, the bee was still there. I wondered if it would survive a brief freeway passage.
When I got home and parked, the bee was gone. Hopefully to green pastures and sweet flowers.

I've been thinking about my magnolia tree's fate all day. Now I have another concern. Was this bee really calm, or was it unwell? Bees are in danger, and we depend on them for pollination of our crops. They are also among the more amazing creatures on the planet.

My magnolia has another week to live. Did I get the date wrong or was it changed? No matter. I know I will appreciate my tree every day more and more. If we chance to meet again, I'll appreciate the bee as well. Whatever its fate, it has been preserved in Blipfoto like a bee in amber.


How doth the little busy Bee
Improve each shining Hour,
And gather Honey all the day
From every opening Flower!

How skilfully she builds her Cell!
How neat she spreads the Wax!
And labours hard to store it well
With the sweet food she makes.

-- Isaac Watts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.