Maureen6002

By maureen6002

The New Royal

Thanks so much for your good wishes. Of course I’ve survived, and of course my bronchoscopy isn’t as bad as I thought - though I’d still rather not go through it again in a hurry. 

I think I’ve now had every ‘oscopy’ possible, some with no sedation, others with that rather pleasant woozy sleepiness where you’re still aware of everything but pain and remember all that’s happened. But this is the first time I’ve had midazolam which means I remember little of the procedure. I’ve always struggled with the concept of this type of sedation, knowing that you’re aware of pain etc as it happens, but that you’ll forget about it afterwards seems so bizarre. Did I fight the insertion of the scope? Was I distressed? Ultimately, I don’t suppose it matters. Other than struggling to breathe when they sprayed local anaesthetic in my throat prior to sedation, and needing a salbutamol and oxygen nebuliser afterwards, things seemed fine - certainly far better than I thought. It’s another very positive NHS experience. 

Finally allowed out at 5.00pm - accompanied by G of course - it’s a case of grabbing a meal deal from Tesco as I’ve eaten nothing since 7.00am, and being driven home for a very quiet evening lying on the couch, my limited concentration shared between journals and Springwatch - enjoying scenes from Anglesey’s Southstack where I spent so many happy hours as a child. 

It will come as no surprise that I took only one photo yesterday - the atrium of the new  Royal Liverpool Hospital. As hospitals go, I think it’s really rather splendid - though it’s still a pity they completely forgot about phlebotomy (as detailed in my May 15th blip).

I think I’ve nearly caught up with journals - I can’t believe just how long it is since I had visited some. I know you don’t expect replies to your lovely comments, but I do like to reply to some at least - especially when you’ve been so generous. I’m following advice and adopting as relaxed an approach as possible , so thanks so much for your kindness and your patience. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.