Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Surprise Visitors

Unsurprisingly, it’s a very quiet day today. It’s lovely to be able to sleep in, and but for a sore throat and a husky voice, I’m suffering no after effects. 

A few things are accomplished: our decking chairs and table arrive and need a degree of self assembly, and we manage to fit our new sail parasol across the seating area of the patio. (Needless to say, it’s G that takes the lead - I’m a pretty feeble workmate.)The garden refurb is now more or less complete - just in time for the weather to change of course. 

I probably would be blipping the garden today, had it not been for a new and very exciting visitor to our tiny pond. I know lots of blippers have dragonflies in their gardens, but this is the first time ever seen them here, so I’m thrilled when a tiny flash of red appears in the corner of my eye. There are two red damsels over the pond - one quickly darts away and out of sight, but the other perches delicately on the grass that droops over the pond. I quickly grab my camera - well as quickly as I can move at the moment. 

This Large Red Damselfly - though really very small - cooperates by staying on his perch for several minutes. However, the breeze is hardly helpful, blowing his grassy perch from side to side and making focus difficult. Still, I manage several shots, from which I’ve chosen two very different captures. One a conventional long view of the damselfly; the other a foreshortened view of of its bug-eyed little face. And it’s the latter that I’ve gone for, just as something a little different! 

Thanks again for all your good wishes - all very much appreciated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.