Return of the king ….

Yesterday I was bemoaning the fact that I’d not seen a single kingfisher this year. Today, I’m entertained by not just one but two as a pair flit back and forth across the water. 

For months, the Spinnies’ resident royalty seem to have mysteriously vanished, but clearly they’ve now returned, and today it’s paparazzi time at the beach hide. Despite the sunshine, the light here in the early afternoon is far from ideal. These gorgeous little birds are largely in the shadow, but the thrill of seeing them is undeniable. I’m pleased to manage some in flight captures, but the diving shot still eludes me!  They’re so quick! My main is of him hovering (best viewed large). Of course it won’t surprise you that I can’t choose just one shot, so there are extras! 

Having felt quite smug at catching up with journals after last week, the pace of things at home seems to have accelerated considerably this week, so I’m afraid that I’m behind again! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.