If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Fern.

An emergency blip today.  We went on our first blip meet since Covid.  The venue was Rheged to visit the Wildlife photographer of the Year exhibition.  We assembled at 10:30 and started as you would expect with ....   You guessed it Coffee.  The little group consisted of Hilda's rose (Blipper) R her husband, Derwent Lass (Blipper) and R her husband, Kentboy (blipper), Clickychick and myself.

Suitably fortified by our refreshments we went up to the exhibition.  I am afraid I had very mixed feelings.  Of course the photography was brilliant my doubt were based on other things.  There were far more underwater shots than I feel needed if you wanted a balanced exhibition.  The norther hemisphere seemed to have  Many shots were caught by camera traps which to me means the photographer had little or no input on composition etc. missed out, it almost seemed you had to be from a hot exotic country to have a chance. To mention just few of my thought.

The blip is an emergency as we were in Reghed until mid/late afternoon then down the road to CC's nearby studio.  I only got out to take shots after our evening meal.  I had intended to blip the exhibition with the blippers viewing but there was a no photography rule. So a shot of a fern frond in the evening sun a hundred yards from home has to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.