Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Winning Roadrunner

The North American Nature Photography Association (NANPA) created Photography in Nature Day in 2006 to encourage people to learn about the beauty of nature and enjoy capturing it on camera. It's celebrated annually on June 15.  -GV News

Full disclosure: This Greater roadrunner photo was taken many, many years ago when I was a baby blipper and with my first DSLR. It looks considerably different now. I cleaned it up and did a tight crop. I entered it at the very last minute in the Green Valley News and Sahuarita Sun Nature Photography Day contest. 

Out of 100+ entries, some of them extraordinary, I won!  It's mostly bragging rights for a year but also a $50 gift card to a very nice local Mexican restaurant. Sumpin' to smile about  :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.