pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Piano and Paint

The Youngest was back with Jenny for her second piano lesson this evening.

She’s really comfortable in her company, so with me having the boy in tow we headed up to Kendal Green to have a kick about in the shade of the massive trees that frame the grass. I used to live around the corner from the green and I always have bitter sweet memories of enjoying it in all seasons with my first wife and The Eldest and then beneath the shade of one of massive trees at the north end of the park, breaking it to my then four year old daughter that I wasn’t going to be living with her anymore.

It was nice to have a new memory of it and a kick about with m’boy whilst They Youngest tinkled ivories (we’ve told her about that). Jenny seems really pleased with her so far, so I really hope she keeps at it.

We headed for home and then round to The Eldest’s school who were displaying all the GCSE and A-Level artwork from the current year. We didn’t linger for long as we were hot and hungry, and focussed our time instead on taking in The Eldest’s work. My goodness, she’s a clever thing and has clearly inherited her mother’s artistic gene! I felt an enormous sense of pride as we looked through her amazing catalogue of work.

Another woman who was looking over the stand at the same time as me, commented that her work was “stunning” and when I said that the artist in question was was my daughter, the lady wanted to make sure that I passed her comments along.

It was my brother-in-law and father’s (different people) birthday today, so I delivered the former of a card and an entirely self-interested contribution to a pizza oven and the latter received a card and a trip to watch a double header of The Hundred when the Manchester Originals (women and men) take on London Spirit in August.

I’m in a lovely phase of my life at present, where I am surrounded by utterly brilliant people and have loads to look forward to*.


*If this sentence doesn’t result in me being hit by a bus (actual and/or metaphorical) tomorrow then nothing will! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.