pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Water Babies

It had been such a hot beautiful summer day that I could not wait to pick the children up from school.

Even the working day had gone well, with a potential banana skin of a meeting actually being deemed a success by my boss, it was with a light heart that I set off to collect the wee ones.

I was leaving work earlier than usual to pick them up as their “other” grandparents who usually take them swimming on a Wednesday had had the audacity, the bare faced cheek to go on holiday for three weeks. They showed me the ropes and how it all worked and I headed for my seat on the bleachers to watch their swimming lesson. Sweet Lord, was it hot in there! Totally worth it though to watch my water babies go about their business. I’ve not seen them swim for a while and was incredibly impressed with their efforts.

Following the lesson and a spot of tea, I dug some cornettos out of the freezer and suggested we munch them on a post dinner perambulation by the river. It was still steaming hot, so we went and had a paddle until m’boy lost his footing and ended up sat in the river laughing his head off!

A befitting end to a decidedly good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.