Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Quality Day

Not a bad nights sleep, considering I was in the middle of London and I had to leave the bedroom window open because it was so hot.

Wandered across to a well known chain of coffee/sandwich shops, most notably in London, to get some breakfast.  They'd only just opened but it was very busy and the barista was looking a bit stressed.  Me being me, I was very cheery and was asking how she was, I think she was glad that someone had spoken to her not just ordered something.  Anyways, she then says to me "do you know what, have this Chai Latte on me" so I ended up with a free hot beverage with my breakfast.

As I made the short walk back to the hotel, I could see this rather disheveled man with a rucksack crossing the road directly for me.  I was a little bit apprehensive and said that I wasn't from here if he was looking for directions.  He had a bit of a stutter and said no.  He then went on to explain that he had been trying to talk to people for the past hour or so, but people just walked by and ignored him.  We had a chat and then I had to say goodbye, I hope in some way my chat with him helped him and that other people took timeout during the day to do the same.

I was nervous when he approached me, and on reflection after the recent incident in Nottingham, perhaps a little foolish but I hoped I was able to help in some small way for him.

The conference, Quality Live, was good, some thought provoking sessions and it has sparked some ideas for me.  It was also good to catch up with some faces that I hadn't seen in a long time.

I had plenty of time to get back to Paddington and chilled and thankfully there were no train dramas, like the two previous days.  I managed to finish a book, so peaceful was it.

Today I am thankful:

1.  Just being kind
2.  Meeting up with some old faces
3.  No train dramas 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.