Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Deja Vu

A day of judging for the UK Excellence Awards for the Established Leader Award that I won last year.  There were some excellent contenders to replace me.

What defines a leader for you?  We had a healthy debate in the judging.  For me it's not about metrics and processes, it's about the difference you make on people, the metrics and results will follow.  You can achieve results but treat people dreadfully.  I think some people were too focused on metrics and processes on the judging panel.

After all day judging it was then back on the train to head to London for a conference tomorrow.  Now after the dramas of yesterday, you'd think today would have been quieter, but oh no.  Within minutes of getting on, there was a paralytic man who was absolutely smashed on stella artois and had been sick.  He wasn't even on the right train, so he had to get off at Port Talbot.  He was so drunk, I had to help him get up and try and get off the train and then as he was trying to get off, he fell backwards into the train again.  We eventually got him off.  The other ladies in the carriage were mightily relieved, they were quite scared, I'm not surprised.  As if that wasn't bad enough, later on in the journey I then had to put up with another plague sufferer and an annoying kid on their tablet with very, very annoying music.  And then at Swindon we had to wait for a replacement train driver.

I eventually arrived at my hotel and so glad to have a rest.  LOL!

Today I am thankful for:

1.  A good day of judging for excellent leaders
2.  A short power ramble  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.