Nature Watcher

By NatureWatcher

Evening in the Meadow

This morning I played bowls in the park.  It was very hot as there is no shade on the green, the dry grass made bowling difficult too. 
Afterwards F and I and another couple went to the pub and sat outside with cooling drinks.

This evening I went to the open evening of a friend's meadow.  It was created in memory of his partner who died in 2014.  As she was a botanist and ecologist, so a traditional hay meadow used for study is a perfect way to remember her.

It is managed in a traditional way and I helped with cutting it a few years ago, the first time that I had wielded a scythe! It was interesting to go with experts in meadows that had a great depth of knowledge about the plants. I hadn't been there since Covid restrictions so it was good to see that it is looking so good and species of plants increased.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.