Nature Watcher

By NatureWatcher

Silver-studded blue butterflies

Yesterday morning F and I went to Prees Heath to see the Silver-studded butterflies.

They have a symbiotic relationship with Black ants.  The ants protect the caterpillars from parasites and caterpillars and in return feed on the sugary substance secreted by the ants.  

I have seen the butterflies many times as it's not far from home but have never seen them with ants.  I got chatting to two men there who showed me a spot where there were ants on a butterfly (Top right of collage).

The females are brown and the males blue that can be seen from the other two photos.

We also saw Greater Whitethroats and Linnets and heard Yellowhammers but didn't see them.

Yesterday afternoon F and I went to My brother Malcornorton's and spent a lovely time chatting with him and J. We then looked around their beautiful garden. It was great to see them both and see him looking so well. 

F stayed for a meal at my house so a busy day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.