Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Dining Room with a Difference

The farm we’re staying in has a few quirky parts to it, particularly the small hatch in the dining room that opens into stables next door. Opening the hatch will normally result in an inquisitive horse checking out what is going on.

We were also given a short tour of the rest of the house by Claude, the owner. So impressive to see the width of the walls and a magnificent stone fireplace in the salon.

Today was another full day ride, to the Hell’s Window. I was told I could also get there following the signs, but I think the guide was overly optimistic. As I walked I came across an American couple with their Azorean guide, who advised me it was quite dangerous after the recent Storm Oscar, due to landslides. She advised against carrying on.

I thought if the horses could do it, so could I, so following their hoof prints I made it to the gorge, coming across L and our guide with the horses, waiting for the others who had gone on by foot. I’d definitely taken a longer route than the pedestrian path, but at least I’d made it safely.

The others came back and showed me an image of the window, which I must admit was underwhelming so I didn’t venture further.  The return trip was much shorter and I realised how much closer I’d been to the gorge before taking a wrong turn.

We returned for a picnic, then I was offered a lift back to the farm, while the riders had a further excursion.  It rained all afternoon and when the riders got back it transpired that it had been quite hairy on the trail, with horses slipping and one rider getting unseated in the difficult conditions.  Everyone was soaked through. It was the last ride for our new friends, Aiona, Jonna and Beatrice, who leave tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.