Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

New crossing gates

I bought some N Scale crossing gates from a 3D printer,  paid for 6 but he sent 8.  You can see some of the detail - amazing actually in that size.  They are about 1 1/4" tall.  Believe ir or not the maker even had the tower hollow and the lights ready for micro LEDs.  The cleaning off the production supports was enough detail work for me - no LEDs.  I did paint parts following some 1950 photos of crossing gates.  Up close the detail painting does not look great - but from 2 feet away no problem.  The hollow main pole is just the size of a toothpick so that is how they will be installed.  

I have "RAIL",  "ROAD",  "CROSSING" signs for the "X" piece. Another "little" job to add.

The extra is a bunch of 20 people I am painting up for the new buildings.  I learned in a model clinic how to do it - start painting like you were dressing the n scale people.  Inside out.   Sort of assembly line.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.