helenann

By helenann

Roses

I spent this   morning with my Mother at her Care Home. First she  had a visit from a lovely emergency dentist to "temporize" a broken tooth, until she has an appointment  in August at a local dental surgery. I was so impressed by how well organised the dentist and her nurse were, with a folding table, and lots of small plastic boxes neatly  packed with equipment, and carefully labelled, which all fitted into two larger wheeled boxes. I am kicking  myself for not  photographing the set up!  Then  there is the  difficulty of  treating the patient in a less than ideal position i.e.  armchair or bed. I think it takes a special person to carry out  domiciliary  calls. 
Afterwards, my Mum and I took a walk in the  garden and found this wonderful rose bush. When Mum went in for lunch, I had a chat with  the Home Manager over  a few matters. She too was very  helpful and took the  time  to seek  answers to my queries, which  I found   reassuring. 
This afternoon, I had a routine  mammogram, performed by two pleasant, and  efficient women.  
It made me reflect (not for the first time!) on how much the world misses out when women are denied the right, or not encouraged, to  reach their full potential, and how much we all gain  when they are given the opportunity to  shine in their  chosen role. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.