Flossmo

By Flossmo

Aeroplanes

I was up and about by 8:30 to try and get some housework done before it got too hot. I was mostly done by midday with a lot of help from vacuumer-in-chief, Mr Flossmo. It was just as well as it was really cooking up. Maybe not as bad as yesterday but hot enough.

After lunch I ventured into the garden to see if there was any sign of dispersing aircraft from the Trooping of the Colour display. I didn't see or hear any but there was a flurry of bizjets coming out of Farnborough. I guess those poor rich things had had to wait until the display aircraft had vacated the area. After that I did a little gardening but only lasted about half an hour before retiring to the cool of the house.

Later Mr Flossmo and I passed the entrance to Farnborough airport on our way to do a little light shopping. I asked if we could make a quick stop by the statue of Sam Cody for today's blip. Although American by birth, Cody spent much of his life in England, the last years developing and testing aeroplanes. He died at the age of 46 in a plane crash near Farnborough, whilst test flying his latest design. The rather handsome statue in the blip stands outside the Farnborough Air Sciences Trust Museum; a fitting tribute to an early aviation pioneer.      
 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.