Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Not enough yet ...

Ok - I'll get it out of the way. My title refers to the fact that it did actually rain in Dunoon today, twice - the first time just enough to make me take in the (just dried) washing before going off again, the second a couple of hearty downpours that didn't last long but seemed a bit wetter. I never thought I'd see the day when I was glad of rain - and the scent in the garden tonight, where the philadelphus in in full flower, is amazing.

It was while I was hanging out the first of two washes that I saw this incredibly delicate insect on the whirligig just where I was intending to put a peg. I've left the side strut of the line in for scale, but what struck me was the eyes of this creature seem to be out on stalks - if you enlarge the photo you'll see what I mean. I've never seen one quite like it, and I don't know what made it climb up there - or was it wafted or dropped? Oh - and though I have fits at big spiders that make a noise as they walk on the bathroom floor, this one moved me only to curiosity.

As for the rest of the day? Well, I started to pack for this wee compensatory trip we're taking, and I had a look at the intercessions I'm going to have to do the day after we return, and I looked at bits of the King's Birthday celebrations because - as you'll know if you've been paying attention - I love military bands. I also tried to explain over the phone to our tenor in Cumbrae how to save documents on an iPad, how to format a Pages document, how even to find a document because it turns out you've not know how to save them and so the whole shebang are left open on your desktop ... Reader: I failed.

Much later I walked to the church to sing through something with Himself and found it warmer inside the church than out at 21ºC - I've never felt it warmer, even with heating on. It was just before we left that the real rain started ...

And I'm realising that Monday took it out of me more than I've been giving it credit for. Apparently heatstroke (or whatever) can take quite a while to give up affecting one. So I felt justified in lying down on top of the bed for a bit before dinner ...

And I feel justified for this fairly tedious blip - I need a bit more energy to be interesting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.