Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Just to show ...

I've been looking at other blippers’ photos of the early light, something I don't tend to see these days - but in the early hours of today I was wandering around after only 2 hours asleep and couldn't resist getting this shot of the dawn breaking only a short distance along the horizon from where I'd taken a photo of the light sky at midnight. I don't know what woke me, though it was terribly warm (at 3.30am) and we've been leaving our bedroom curtains open until the sun rises, then leaving them shut till after 11am when it moves over the house.

Today's busyness was almost all indoors except for hanging out all our bedclothes to dry to a crisp in the garden. As I didn't want to put these particular sheets back on the bed (they're a tad robust, even with the 5 tog duvet) I had the usual horrid wrestling match with a king-size duvet cover with a side opening and a specific direction, if you get me. I think I was stupider than ever getting it on, and reduced to a dishrag by the time I'd finished. 

In a sort of doze after lunch I contemplated holidays, one of which I should currently be enjoying in Italy, and why staying in your own house can never really be a proper holiday unless it's an alternative to paid employment. I really do need to be in a different environment, and preferably one where other people do the catering - there are too many huvtaes in one's own place, and in hot weather huvtaes tend to loom - over me, anyway.

Maybe that's why I took myself round to Di's in the late afternoon, having invited myself over for a cuppa. Having been aware only of the hot sun all day, I was surprised by the thunderclouds ahead of me as I drove, and a sudden torrent of rain greeted me the moment I sat down in her garden. By the time I drove home, an hour later, the road was bone dry with sizeable puddles in the gutter, and there was no sign of any rain at all from the head of the Holy Loch all the way home. 

Tomorrow we're promised some actual rain. We'll see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.