Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

South Beach, Durban

When we got to the hospital today to see my mum, we were not allowed in as we were a little too early for visiting hours. As the hospital is situated on the beach front we took a little walk along the promenade to kill time. This is the newly developed South Beach area, which almost looks like it could be Miami! The promenade stretches far along the beach front and is very wide to allow for cyclists, walkers, joggers and roller bladers.

Due to my own paranoia, I felt nervous to flash my expensive camera around so I did not really have much choice in what I could photograph. Crime in South Africa is legendary and it is so long since I have lived there that I really do not know how bad it is today, but I did not want to take any chances with my precious camera.

On a positive note, my mum has improved to the point where she will be discharged soon. She will be frail for a while and will need a wheel chair to get around as her condition (cardio myopathy) means that she tires very easily, with shortness of breath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.