Arachne

By Arachne

I chose to come to Liverpool this weekend because it is Oyé, the African music festival held in lovely Sefton Park. My first visit to the festival was 12 years ago to help run an African book stall. We took turns abandoning the books to get nearer the musicians and all of us loved it. Five years ago I came back, generously hosted by Folkie, and I loved it all over again: the music, the inclusivity, the mood...

Today felt different. Of the six bands/musicians I heard, I enjoyed only one (Kimi Djabaté, first extra, phenomenal on the balafon and lyrical on the guitar so apologies that he's relegated to the corner while I was focussing on stage effects). But worse was that people were moving in and out of the crowd in front of the stage all the time and I was constantly being shoved and bashed. No-one said 'excuse me' or apologised. And a surprising number of people had put up private tents and gazebos quite close to the stage blocking people's view. The feel of the day was quite inconsiderate.

Folkie and I intended to meet up but as at all such events text messages weren't working. Early evening I retreated into a part of the park behind the festival and had been recovering on a bench for only a few minutes when Folkie and her friend joined me. She'd spotted me spotting a bench about to be vacated and pursuing it single-mindedly. It was a very real pleasure to meet up again.

I caught this serendipitous shot of Ziezie, who had been wooing and wowing the young crowd, many of whom knew all the words to his songs, just before he left the stage half an hour before his set was due to end. I have no idea what was going on.

I took lots and lots of candids today but I'm not going to post anything in which a member of the public is identifiable. Maybe at some point in the future.

Not all the messages in the final extra are Oyé branding but I don't imagine anyone there was offended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.