Arachne

By Arachne

By the time I woke up this morning my overnight brain had decided to write off the third night of my pre-paid room-booking near the festival, to go to see other bits of Liverpool until the forecast storms appeared then to catch a train home.

So where to? When I was last in Liverpool, teaching on English Afloat in 2019, we came tantalisingly close to the Stanley Dock Tobacco Warehouse but did not have time for me to go and look at the 27 million bricks it took to build in 1901. Obvious answer.

It's now part converted into luxury flats which means that its middle has been demolished and I couldn't go in but there are great views from the Titanic Hotel (really? yes, really) opposite.

The rest of my day, all on foot with backpack, took in part of the Liverpool Biennial, the docks further south, the Philharmonic Dining Room, the Catholic cathedral and a Sunday-train-route home via Manchester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.