The second half of life..

By twigs

Cormorant rescue

A quick trip into town to get a new power cord for my phone turned into quite a drama, and anything but quick.  All good until I was driving home along Rocks Road, stopped to take a couple of pics and noticed something odd in the water.  It turned out to be a cormorant which I was able to eventually work out, was tangled in some fishing line.  I raced back to my car to get my phone and call DoC (Department of Conservation) for some help/advice and was told a ranger would be with me in about 15 minutes.  Headed back to see bird looking a whole heap more tired and this lady - Jo - descending the steps towards the water.  Turns out her and hubby Rob had seen the bird too and she decided she'd wade/swim out to it (it was about 15m from the shore).  She was very cautious so as not to spook it any more but it was so exhausted that I don't think it really cared.  She brought it back to shore wrapped in a soaking towel.  Remembering I had a pile of goodies ready to take to the opshop I raced back to the car, found a fleecy blanket and a supermarket bag and returned to swap the heavy cotton towel for a lighter, drier (warmer?) fleece.  By the time I returned Jo and hubby Rob had completely untangled the fishing line and detached a hook from its mouth.  Poor wee thing was very tired so it was decided it would be unwise to release it as it would be unlikely to have the energy to fly far plus it's feathers were somewhat waterlogged.  I sat with it wrapped in the blanket in the shopping bag whilst Jo and Rob headed home (by this stage she was very cold) and about 15 minutes later the DoC ranger arrived saying she'd take it home tonight, give it a feed and dry it out and hopefully it would survive and be released tomorrow.  I sure do hope the poor wee thing survives......what a traumatic time it had.  It does upset me that the hand of man caused it so much pain and suffering.  Image series in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.