The second half of life..

By twigs

Neighbourly

I received a call from J over the road this afternoon telling me that a lady up the road a bit had a few plants on the kerbside she had dug up and was giving away.  I scooted along to check things out and met the lady who was still out in her garden.  The encounter turned into quite a lovely chat about all kinds of things.......neighbourhood, traffic, garden, houses, plants and social history all featured!  She was very happy for me to take the 2 rhododendrons she'd dug up, though we're not sure how they'll go being replanted.  She also gave me some chrysanthemum tubers and a ground cover.  It was a lovely encounter and as I left I found myself thinking about how I might return a favour for her.......?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.