Everyday Life

By Julez

Minstrel

Last night I slept very well after all the stress of the previous couple of days on very little sleep. (Yesterday is back-blipped)

First task of the day today was phoning the hospital. It was very annoying to be told that the plan had changed and Dad would not be having an operation today after all - he has to have an Ultrasound scan on the arm first and will then go down some time tomorrow. So we would have been able to go to the rugby today after all... Too late after the lie-in to be organised and ready to go! And I'd been told not to call earlier anyway!

We watched the game from the sofa anyway. As I have commented before, the atmosphere of Wigan home games is sometimes like being in a Trappist monastery but today it looked electric. Wigan having a player getting into a bit of a confrontation and subsequently sent off after 6 minutes was a bit of a blow...

Still, they looked up for it and played as I know they can, but haven't over the past few weeks. Good fortune was on their side and the sending off seemed to motivate them too. It was a good game, very close and tense with Wigan beating Warrington Wolves 14-12. Next round they have Hull KR. Shame I would not dare even think about booking tickets! 

After the match I went to visit Dad. He was a bit fed up over all the chopping and changing. He only has one working hearing aid battery so if they did tell him what was happening he probably would not have heard properly. (I took some batteries over last night - turned out they were dead ones he'd kept as you are not allowed to put them in the bin.)

Having his tea cheered him up. On this ward they bring a snacks trolley round and he took full advantage of that too. It is weird - they did not do that on any other ward he has been on. This one is very bright and modern.

I am home now - he was tired and wanted to get some sleep so I didn't stay too long. They'd woken him at 5 AM to get him prepared for the op he subsequently didn't have.. I got to watch the second half of the final Challenge Cup game between York Knights and Leigh Leopards too.

I did yoga this morning. Minstrel was in this box that is in the yoga room waiting to be filled with stuff to go to a charity shop and I took a photo - Blip sorted early for once!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.