When It Rains...

Work was indeed too hot and pretty quiet last night. It looked like it would get busy at the end when we wanted to clean up and go home but that petered out too. It has been decided that we will stick with our original opening hours and not stay an hour later. No one comes to the shop at that time and it's not worth it.

There used to be a taxi office almost opposite the shop. When that was there the shop was very busy when people were going home after a night on the town, especially at weekends. But it went bust and closed down during the pandemic, and now no-one bothers going that far out of town unless they live there. Back then they stayed open until 3AM - later if it was busy! I would not have wanted to work those hours... Watan used to be there from 10AM too!

I'm back at work tonight and it is cool and drizzly. None of the promised storms, and it does not feel like that sort of atmosphere really.

I've been to my Dad's today. As I left I said to Brian that I'd take my umbrella. He said it wasn't due to rain until 3 o'clock and I'd be fine. When I left the train in Meg it was absolutely pissing down, and there were hailstones in among the giant raindrops. So I have been cold and wet all morning by contrast with being hot all day yesterday!

Next door's cat Kimmie was waiting by their door. She had bob hope and none of being allowed into their house and she was soaking. when she saw me she meowed and came through the fence for a fuss. She followed me into my Dad's place - he had the door open anyway - and climbed straight on my lap as I sat down! 

I feel sorry for Kimmie. She's forced to be an outdoor cat but all she seems to want is to be on someone's lap getting fusses and cuddles. She is so affectionate! 

My Dad's reluctant to encourage her, but I'd bring her home with me if I could. I'm not sure she'd be welcomed by Minstrel though I think she'd love him, and I doubt she'd want to be a full time house-cat which would be necessary here. She does visit another house up the road, hopefully they will get the message and let her go in their house. Estelle next door still feeds her and Alex, but that is pretty much their only interaction since getting their dog Max!

All is OK at my Dad's otherwise and there was very little for me to have to do today really. Brian fetched me and as we left the village we saw a red kite fly very low across the road. He stopped but by the time I grabbed my camera the kite had gone out of sight behind a hedge, I think it had caught some prey!

It was raining still so I took a few quick shots of things by the roadside to save having to hunt for something once home. This is the best of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.