Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Africa Oyé 2023

Firstly, a huge thank you for all your kind words, hearts and stars for my recent anniversary blip. Hugs all round!

It’s been an exhausting week with minimal sleep but today I was determined to get to ‘Africa Oyé’, Liverpool’s annual free festival of music from the continent of Africa and its diaspora.

My friend Mel came over from North Wales and we headed to Sefton Park in perfect weather conditions for a day of music and festivities.

It was also a joy to meet up with Blipper extraordinaire, Arachne, in the park this afternoon and to have a good old chinwag with her. However, I have to agree with everything she says in her blip about the festival today www.blipfoto.com/entry/3117010853350607944 Although it’s long been a highlight in my musical calendar, I felt the music today did very little for me with the exception of Kimi Djabaté from Guinea-Bissau. Perhaps I’m just getting too old for this festival lark! 

The atmosphere also felt less relaxed than in previous years and I’m disinclined to go back tomorrow; partly because of that, partly because of my general weariness at the moment, and partly because the weather forecast isn’t good at all…

Despite my slight air of disappointment today, I still managed to get a few shots of the artists on the bill including adopted Scouser, Ni Maxine (today’s main Blip), and, in the Extras, Ziezie (UK/DR Congo), Tanya Stephens (Jamaica) and the aforementioned Kimi Djabaté, whose balafon and guitar wizardry were a wonder to witness. He also provides today’s tune, ‘Alidonke’ www.youtube.com/watch?v=KI_tvS834kw 

A shout out too to erstwhile Blipper SJB, whom I ran into down in the photographers’ pit where we attempted a conversation, despite the noise levels being eardrum-endangering. The earplugs I was wearing probably didn’t help the conversation to flow but it was lovely to see him! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.