pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Vintage look?

⁶Jon took this not very good photo of our set up. He just isn't any good at photography! I turned it to black and white to get a vintage vibe. We have been outside all day. It hasn't been hot, but I was in shorts.

We turned our light out before 10 last night, both feeling shattered from our long day. Waking at 5 and then the drive ( I didn't do any driving, but still felt tired!) Then I woke eventually at 9.30am!!! I had been up at 6 for a wee but that doesn't count. I'm pretty sure the hay-fever tablet knocked me out, but it was still very late. We clearly needed the sleep!

A very lazy day ensued. No danger of 12000 steps today - barely 1200 or perhaps only 120 max! I've been to the toilet block and back a few times - but that is located right next to us! We had tea in the sun first thing. We settled to listen to The Archers omnibus (can't believe they have gone back down the Rob Titchener storyline, that was such a horrible time I actually stopped listening to it). Jon did a big fry up brunch and we settled to read.

I can't read in the day without it making me fall asleep so I got out my laptop to begin my brand new 'New Year's Resolution' challenge. I have wanted to write a book for adults to read, for a long time. At new year, I promised that once Mollie had been treated and was on the mend, I would start it. My ideas are jumbled, and all over the place. Some on my phone, some on an ipad, some on paper, in one-note. Just everywhere! I can't say I have managed to gather them all together, but I have most and was determined to make a start. I want to write an outline of every chapter before I start writing. I am going to create proper characters (apologies if you recognise any of these people when you read it - but yes, bits may be you. Because I'm not THAT imaginative!!) and think more in advance about the whole research thing - like a real author would.

So my laptop is essential and I've used onenote today to summarise the first 10 chapters. I'm aiming for short chapters of maybe 2000 to 3000 words each. So possibly 40 chapters. It has to be at least 80,000 words or it's not an adults novel. It's going to be a challenge but an enjoyable one I hope. We have to set ourselves challenges in life or what's the point in being here?!

Feeling positive anyway. Jon cooked a curry for dinner. He did all the cooking today - I had forgotten it was fathers day. Tomorrow we plan to go to Edinburgh on the bus. It is currently raining - but the worst of it seems to have passed. Hoping its a dry day tomorrow:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.