La vida de Annie

By Annie

ICU

The Last 24 hours were spent in Intensive care, but only because the High Dependency Unit was full. I'm the only conscious patient in here, and the machine and alarm sounds are quite oppressive, but I'm very aware of being the only lucky one in here to be aware of it. Despite the quite distressing nature of the unit, the staff are incredibly upbeat and cheerful, a credit to the NHS. Another Channel4 documentary is soon to be filmed here in the hospital about the incredible work done by the neurosurgeons and nursing staff. I'm only here in ICU because I had a vasospasm during the op, necessitating blood-thinning meds which unfortunately stopped my wound from clotting, but otherwise so far so good; I can still whinge for Britain if so inclined. Hoping to be transferred to a ward again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.