Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Sunset in the Emmapolder

Peter and I spent the evening on the mudflats of the Wadden Sea, 20 kilometers from home.
We've been here quite a few times before, but today was a bit different. We could walk much much further towards the sea than on previous occasions. 
The evenings are at its longest this time of the year, so we had some time to kill before the actual sunset. But on our way to the sea we captured some nice images already.
By the time things got too soft and muddy, the sun disappeared behind a thick grey layer of clouds. About 20 minutes before the actual sunset.
We stood there for a while watching and enjoying the views. The photos I made unfortunately aren't as special as I'd hoped they would be, because of the lack of light.
I then noticed the upcoming tide coming in, not too far from were we stood. We then quiclly agreed to walk back towards the mainland.

At moments like this I always remember a similar situation, years ago with Ron, near Moddergat.
The water was coming and I decided to take just one more picture. One with a shutterspeed of over 30 seconds.... after 15 seconds or so, I grabbed my tripod and went after Ron who already was on his way back.
The final meters before I was on safe ground I was walking ankle deep in the water. It had caught up with me much faster than I'd thought.

None of this happened this time. We safely arrived back on shore way before the water did.
I wonder if I'll ever go that far ever again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.