Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Little Wood Satyr

I met up with my nature group this morning as planned.  We enjoyed a lovely variety of birds, along with dragonflies and butterflies.  I chose this rather humble Little Wood Satyr (Megisto cymbal) perched on native mountain laurel because I just like it.  The butterfly is common in our area but the mountain laurel is only found in higher elevations.  

We had hoped to see a Timber Rattlesnake at our first stop but it just wasn't quite warm enough.  However, 4 members of our group were lingering up on the peak and as they made their way back down towards the parking lot, a medium sized rattler was on the trail in front of them.  They all got photos and the snake looked gorgeous.  And you know how much I wished I had stayed up there just a bit longer...

Back at home, the yard is hopping.  Baby titmice are venturing closer so I will hopefully get some pics this week.  The young downy and red-bellied woodpeckers are already learning to forage for themselves, the little cuties.  I will check the bluebird box later to see if she has started laying eggs yet.  

Hubs is going for a bike ride after work so we'll eat later - I'm just doing a big Greek salad for dinner.  Easy and healthy and delicious with local tomatoes and cucumbers and my own fresh herbs.  And I will be looking at some dark with blood orange today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.