Nature Watcher

By NatureWatcher

Butterflies and a moth

This afternoon I went for a WildlifeTrust guided walk on Whixall Moss.  F and I go there quite often so know it well but guided walks with an expert are usually good as they can point out plants and insects that I might not know.

This one was very slow and boring with the guide more interested in the history and restoration of the moss (which I knew) than things living there.  About half way round I excused myself from the group and mooched around on my own which was much more enjoyable.

There were lots of butterflies around - those in my blip are a pair of Speckled Wood butterflies, a Small Skipper and a Clouded Silver day flying moth (all seen after I left the group).  I also saw Large Heath and Brimstones and a few dragonflies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.