Pictorial blethers

By blethers

We needed rain ...

Well, we jolly well got it! Heavy rain overnight had more or less died away by morning, but the afternoon became suddenly very overcast and the heavens opened, noisily. I had to choose between a narrow view through an apparently melting window with the water running down it, and this one - which I plumped for because of the misty hills with clouds lying in the hollows like snow. I certainly won't be needing to water the plants for a bit.

Just as well, really - we're popping off for a brief holiday on Arran, booked at the last minute after I cancelled the Italian one and - perhaps more critically - saw my refund in my credit card account. So, short holiday or no, we spent the morning - nay, much of the day - trundling up and down stairs with indispensable items to put in a case. And there are enough pairs of shoes and boots in the car for a family of centipedes - Blipper Munroist would so disapprove, I feel. (My excuse is we're in a car, so can be sloppy).

Apart from the brief forays to the car between showers, I've not been over the door all day. It's amazingly depressing to do that. I didn't even feel up to Pilates. I had a Zoom vestry meeting in the middle of the afternoon, which would have put the tin lid on activities even if it hadn't been pouring, but that was it. I don't think I ate enough either, having not really felt like it after yesterday's jolly, and dinner was a somewhat makeshift affair. 

I shall be briefer in my blipping till the weekend - that late-night peering at the phone never leads to eloquence, any more than today has!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.