Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

I'M IN THE SYSTEM!

I rang my GP Surgery this morning spot on 8.30 and was Number 1 in the queue!  However, I couldn’t get a face-to-face appointment with my GP because she is working from home today as there are building works going on at the surgery.  She was very helpful though and said I obviously needed to go to have an x-ray and that she would get this in the system today.  She then made an appointment for me to see her on Friday morning when hopefully the x-ray will be with her.  She felt she should see me before she refers me to the hospital for further investigation into my leg issues.  

By 9.15 Mr. HCB and I were on our way to the local hospital which is only 5 minutes from where we live - well it would be if there weren’t road works!  However, by 9.25 he had dropped me off and I went straight to the Radiology Department.  I had never noticed before how heavy the doors were, so trying to get through them, with a Mo-Rollator proved rather difficult but there were plenty of kind people around who helped by holding or pushing the doors.   

I had thought to take the letter received from my Physiotherapist a few weeks ago, which had my Hospital Number on it, so the receptionist complimented me on being efficient and said it had helped her.  I told her that having worked in admin for many years, I knew the more information given, the easier the job for the person on the other end and she agreed.  

I had just sat down and was texting Mr. HCB to let him know that there weren’t many in the waiting area when my name was called, so off I went to a nearby cubicle - when I was told to remove my bra (because it had metal hooks) and everything else except for underwear and put the hospital robe on - what a job trying to tie the thing up at the back - I gave up in the end and just threw caution to the wind and left the gown flapping - not a pretty sight, I know, but no-one but the Radiographer saw my bright turquoise knickers!!

It was soon my turn and the Radiographer was a very pleasant young lady - I had to climb and stand onto  quite a high step, which proved challenging, so I hung on to the top of the machine for grim death and hauled myself up so that I didn’t fall.  When I asked if she could help me, she said she wasn’t allowed to because if I fell, I might blame and possibly sue them!  I do understand, but it did make me perspire a little!  I then had to turn round - yet another challenge, but I did it!   After all that, she only took two shots, but couldn’t help me when I had to climb down - so again, I held on tight to the machine - with the gown flowing out behind me!  

I took these shots not to gain any sympathy, but for my own records and must say that I was pleased with the efficient service - I would have done the survey, as asked on a notice nearby, but couldn’t find it on the reception desk and there was no-one there to ask.  Couldn’t resist taking a shot of Mr. Happy and the Christmas tree in the garden at the front of the hospital made me smile - but it is only just over six months until Christmas!!  While I was waiting for Mr. HCB to come back and collect me, I chatted to a lady outside the hospital (as I usually do!) who said she was waiting for her husband today, but that she was also waiting to see a physiotherapist about her knees but didn’t know how long she would have to wait - so I gave her the name of my lovely Physiotherapist - who knows, she might get some business out of it!  

I am very grateful for our National Health Service - I got seen very quickly this morning and am glad I don’t have this phobia:

NOSOCOMEPHOBIA
An intense fear of hospitals. It's a type of anxiety disorder that can cause symptoms and panic attacks. It may prevent you from getting important medical care or stop you from visiting loved ones. Nosocomephobia may be related to other fears, such as germs, disease, blood or needles.


P.S.  The Silly Saturday Gang members said to thank you for your kind comments for yesterday's Blip - I think I managed to comment on most of yours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.