Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

The day's arrived at long last and work on my new bathroom started at 8.30am. Exciting!

But, as often happens, it wasn't plain sailing, and when the first of the white tiles were removed a second layer of blue tiles was discovered. Pound signs immediately appeared in front of me... twice the work, twice the time!

I went off to the MIND shop for a couple of hours. I didn't want to let Julie (the manager) down as I'm the only volunteer to work the first hour or so on a Tuesday. By the time I got home another bathroom problem had come to light.

The two outside walls were back to the brick, but 1972 Wimpey built houses have egg box construction in the partition walls, which didn't look great after the tiles came off. Dale says he'll have to plasterboard them. I agree. 

Next the porcelain floor tiles had to come up, which was a shame but they won't fit the new suite. Dale had another surprise... the tiles had been stuck directly onto the floorboards instead of onto sheets of plywood (or whatever the correct boarding is) and it was proving impossible to remove the tile adhesive without damaging the boards. It looks as though new floorboards might be needed...

It'll be worth it when it's finished, it's just the getting there.  Destruction before Construction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.