KathyH58

By KathyH58

June 20

The first peony to bloom in the garden. Even though I was just starting to work in this garden a year ago, there is only one peony that I really noticed blooming. There are several planted here, one whole bed, that's almost all that is there is peonies. I know that another one is red, one bud on it is showing some color.
I stopped at one of the grocery chain stores this morning to get some bags of compost, they have a garden center section at this time of year. But they had no one there to help load it. I was told that the guy who helps load the vehicles was not in till 9 am, and I was there at 8:30. I decided I would head for the job site and take one of the girls with me and go to another place to get the compost. I went to another grocery chain garden center. It's a good thing I took M with me, because there were 2 women working there and neither of them were willing to help load either. We took the compost back to the job, dropped it off for the girls to spread, then went back to get some bags of mulch. Forty bags of mulch later, the job was done. Normally I don't buy that many bags of mulch for a job, I would buy it by the yard. The house is at the top of a slope, the yard is fully fenced although there is a gate at the bottom to get to a walking trail. The only access to the back yard involves going down 2 sets of steps. No access with a wheelbarrow. When I first started working on this yard a couple of years ago, I did get some mulch delivered, then the guy working for me had to bag it himself and carry it down. A very labor intensive job. It was easier this year, buying the pre-bagged mulch.
The day started out cloudy, now it has cleared off. There is a risk of frost tonight in low lying areas! I wonder what all the people that say to wait till after the full moon in June to plant things will do now. The full moon was June 3 and the new moon on June 17. Maybe I will have to remind them about this next year, lol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.