Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

It rained all day

... and finally I think I may have found a solution for re-homing some of our vast collection of books.  I knew Oxfam had specific book shops - years ago I took boxes to the Broomhill Branch in Sheffield, but parking was a nightmare, so I didn't want to go down that route.  I've looked at another option that a friend suggested using an app on my phone to scan them but it only wanted 5 of the books I tried of which one gave me about £5 and the other four gave me about the same, so at that point I decided that the books should go to a charity.  At least they will be able to get a fair price for any that are a bit more valuable.

So my solution! Yesterday I actually checked out the Oxfam donation page where I discovered that they use Yodel for collection and that my nearest place to drop them off is at the Coop Supermarket in Dodworth - so yesterday I managed to pack three smallish boxes which were just the right weight to handle.  (So I'll be on the look-out for small boxes over the next few weeks.)

Both Ann and I had a career which involved books and we both have had a personal passion for buying them.  I've tried to make a start on sorting out her attic several times and what to do with her books has always blocked my progress - maybe I have a solution at last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.