A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Midsummer at Harlow Carr

A gorgeous visit to Harlow Carr today. The forecast earlier in the week wasn’t too good but there wasn’t a cloud in the sky and it was hot hot! We were seeking shade.

We started with coffee in Betty’s and then my friend bought me an early birthday lunch. Their sandwiches are truly delicious.

I was delighted to see lots of Iris when we entered the gardens. We wandered through the middle to start with and they have divided the once large green area into smaller ‘rooms’. There were lots of deck chairs around and garden games. We felt there were more benches and picnic tables too.

I loved the wild flowers along the path edge by the winter walk but at this time of year it has to be the Candleabra primulas by the stream that are the stars. There are more of these now by the central ponds too. Because we nearly always come on or around my birthday they are the flowers I expect to see.

We walked back through the woodland area for some shade and then found a shaded bench to have a cup of tea from the kiosk where I also indulged in buying a couple of Yorkshire Curd tarts. Delicious.

Back home in time to meet friends at the pub where I rounded off a lovely day with a refreshing G & T


More from Harlow Carr on Flickr - click on Back to Album

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.