AMK49

By AMK49

Clocks

It is not too difficult to tell when I took this photo today and 5 minutes later there was a lovely sound as they struck the half hour with a variety of chimes. The walls are lined by some very large clocks.

I popped in to see E who followed in his father’s footsteps in this shop and became a very skilled Clocksmith . His favourite achievements are a beautiful clock he made that shows all the workings and a wonderful sundial cleverly designed. He has retired from many of his activities and his sister took the opportunity to retire completely but he is currently holding an exhibition of some splendid old clocks most of them from a private collection with many of them for sale. He told me that today someone is travelling up from London to see the clocks. Some of them date back to the 1700s and recently I introduced him to a genealogist friend as he was mystified by one of these which had our town and a name on it that  he didn’t recognise as a clockmaker.  It looks like R may have solved the mystery ! 

While I was there I got him to fit a new watch strap to my trusty old Tissot .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.